Book Review: Blackout After Dark by Marie Force



Blackout After Dark by Marie Force

Gansett Island Series (Book 23)

HTJB, Inc. (February 9, 2021)

Family Saga/Contemporary Romance




The lights are out on Gansett, and things are getting steamy!

An island-wide power failure has thrust Gansett into darkness. We’ll take this opportunity to catch up with each of the couples we’ve come to know and love, and meet a few new characters who’ll appear in upcoming books. It’s the heart of summer, the power’s out and things are getting hot on Gansett Island!




KINDLE        APPLE BOOKS        NOOK        KOBO        GOOGLE











What a great way to catch up on all the Gansett characters!

With Blackout After Dark (book 23 of the Gansett Island series), Marie brings us up to date on the lives of EVERY past character. We also are introduced to several new characters. There are a lot of characters in this series so this is an impressive accomplishment. I believe she said there were more than 40 points of view in this forty-five-chapter book along with A Gansett Island Short Story to complete the update.

It is a fantastic return to Gansett Island with the beloved, always entertaining and hilarious McCarthy family and their amazing friends. All the story lines are woven seamlessly into the novel, with gentle reminders of their backstory. There’s a baby boom of epic proportions, engagements, weddings, joys, heartbreaks, and of course steamy chemistry between couples. Many characters end up on the island facing some difficult time in the lives and it’s wonderful to see they have found peace there. Gansett Island is great for a reset, and it’s a wonderful series to read to also get away and reset your own life. That’s what this series is known for. This series has a special place in my heart, as well as Block Island, which is the island that the series is based off of. As always Marie does not disappoint when she brings us back to the island. Brilliantly done!

Reviewed by Comfy Chair Books/Lisa Reigel (February 14, 2021)



Set on a fictional version of Marie’s beloved Block Island, RI, the Gansett Island is Marie’s marquee series with more than 4 million copies of the books sold since Maid for Love debuted in 2011. Readers come back book after book to catch up with their favorite characters while enjoying a new romance in every book. Get ready to share in the life of the McCarthy family as well as their many island friends in this much-loved sexy romance series. 

GANSETT ISLAND is a registered trademark with the United States Patent & Trademark Office.

While the Gansett Island Series books can stand alone, with a complete story in each book, you will enjoy them more if you read them in order. Stories unfold chronologically, and couples show up again in later books, keeping you up-to-date with your favorite characters.

Click on the link for each book to access ebook, print and audio purchase links as well as excerpts and other information about the books.

Book 1: Maid for Love (Maddie & Mac)
Book 2: Fool for Love (Joe & Janey) 
Book 3: Ready for Love (Luke & Sydney)
Book 4: Falling for Love (Grant & Stephanie) 
Book 5: Hoping for Love (Evan & Grace) 
Book 6: Season for Love (Owen & Laura)
Book 7: Longing for Love (Blaine & Tiffany)

Book 8: Waiting for Love (Adam & Abby)
Book 9: Time for Love (Daisy & David)
Book 10: Meant for Love (Jenny & Alex)
Book 10.5: Chance for Love, A Gansett Island Novella (Jared & Lizzie)
Book 11: Gansett After Dark (Owen & Laura)
Book 12: Kisses After Dark (Shane & Katie)
Book 13: Love After Dark (Paul & Hope)
Book 14: Celebration After Dark (Big Mac & Linda)
Book 15: Desire After Dark (Slim & Erin)
Book 16: Light After Dark  (Mallory & Quinn)
Book 17: Victoria & Shannon (Episode 1)
Book 18: Kevin & Chelsea (Episdoe 2)
A Gansett Island Christmas Novella

Book 19: Mine After Dark (Riley & Nikki)
Book 20: Yours After Dark (Finn & Chloe)
Book 21: Trouble After Dark (Deacon & Julia)
Book 22: Rescue After Dark (Mason & Jordan) 
Book 23: Blackout After Dark (full cast)

Book 24: Temptation After Dark (coming soon)

Gansett series


Marie ForceMarie Force is the New York Times bestselling author of contemporary romance, romantic suspense and erotic romance. Her series include Gansett Island, Fatal, Treading Water, Butler Vermont, Quantum and Miami Nights.

Her books have sold more than 10 million copies worldwide, have been translated into more than a dozen languages and have appeared on the New York Times bestseller more than 30 times. She is also a USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestseller, as well as a Speigel bestseller in Germany. 

Her goals in life are simple—to finish raising two happy, healthy, productive young adults, to keep writing books for as long as she possibly can and to never be on a flight that makes the news. 

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Newsletter | Goodreads



One thought on “Book Review: Blackout After Dark by Marie Force

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s