Book Review: Shipped by Angie Hockman

140589874_1323947804641298_7580745767602482735_o

 

Shipped by Angie Hockman

Gallery Books (January 19, 2021)

Women’s Fiction/Romantic Comedy

 

The Unhoneymooners meets The Hating Game in this witty, clever, and swoonworthy novel following a workaholic marketing manager who is forced to go on a cruise with her arch-nemesis when they’re up for the same promotion.

Between taking night classes for her MBA and her demanding day job at a cruise line, marketing manager Henley Evans barely has time for herself, let alone family, friends, or dating. But when she’s shortlisted for the promotion of her dreams, all her sacrifices finally seem worth it.

The only problem? Graeme Crawford-Collins, the remote social media manager and the bane of her existence, is also up for the position. Although they’ve never met in person, their epic email battles are the stuff of office legend.

Their boss tasks each of them with drafting a proposal on how to boost bookings in the Galápagos—best proposal wins the promotion. There’s just one catch: they have to go on a company cruise to the Galápagos Islands…together. But when the two meet on the ship, Henley is shocked to discover that the real Graeme is nothing like she imagined. As they explore the Islands together, she soon finds the line between loathing and liking thinner than a postcard.

With her career dreams in her sights and a growing attraction to the competition, Henley begins questioning her life choices. Because what’s the point of working all the time if you never actually live?

Perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Sally Thorne, Shipped is a fresh and engaging rom-com that celebrates the power of second chances and the magic of new beginnings.

41lNx2MiwGL._SY346_

Available to purchase from the following retailers:

Amazon | Apple Books | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Books-A-Million | Bookshop | Google Play | Indiebound |Rakuten kobo | Simon & Schuster | Target | Hachette UK | Waterstones

 

REVIEW

I really enjoyed this quirky romantic comedy. It’s full of mishaps, misjudgments, chemistry, and flawed characters. The descriptive writing of the backdrop of the island made it seem like I was on a vacation myself. The novel features many actual locations in Galapagos and the authors love of the area shines through. The main female lead, Henley is a smart, career driven woman who is caught up in obtaining the promotion that she has lost sight of everything else. Her work-enemy and competition, Graeme, is the such a great guy that sometimes I felt bad for the saltiness behavior of Henley. There is a satisfying HEA so Henley was redeemed to me 😊 Wonderful and interesting secondary characters who I feel have stories in their futures (hint, hint). A very clever debut!

Reviewed by Comfy Chair Books/Lisa Reigel (February 29, 2021)

February’s pick for the Brenda Novak Book Club

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

B1HXV2Zkl+S._SY200_Angie Hockman is a RWA Golden Heart Award® winner. Her professional background includes stints in law, education, and eco-tourism, but these days you can find her writing romantic stories, enjoying the outdoors with her family, or dreaming of her next travel adventure. She lives in Northeast Ohio with her husband, young son, two cats, and one ornery golden retriever.

https://www.angiehockman.com/

http://fb.me/AngieHockmanAuthor

http://www.twitter.com/angie_hockman

https://www.instagram.com/angie_hockman

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/20455184.Angie_Hockman?from_search=true&from_srp=true

 

#Shipped #ShippedNovel #RomanticComedy #angie_hockman #BookClubRead #Galapagos @simonandschuster @gallerybooks #enemiestolovers #vacationromance #2021debuts #romcom #reviewer #bookstagram #booklover

 

comfychair

 

 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s