Book Review: Mine After Dark by Marie Force


Mine After Dark by Marie Force

Gansett Island Series (Book 19)

HTJB Inc., May 28, 2018






He barely knew her, and he can’t forget her…

It’s the dead of winter on Gansett Island, and Riley McCarthy’s mood matches the lousy weather as he and his family work to bring their new business, McCarthy’s Wayfarer, back to life. He can’t deny that he’s been in a funk since Nikki Stokes and her twin sister, Jordan, left the island last fall without saying goodbye. Riley, who’d been hired to fix the leaking roof at their grandmother’s home, had liked talking to Nikki and had been looking forward to getting to know her better when she disappeared. Months later, he still thinks of her every day, even if he wishes he didn’t. She’s hard to forget. As the manager for Jordan’s reality TV career, Nikki finds herself square in the middle of the kind of drama she’s had more than enough of, especially since her sister plans to go back to the husband who released a sex tape that devastated Jordan last fall. Enough is enough for Nikki, who quits her job and heads for her happy place—her grandmother’s oceanfront home on Gansett Island, hoping she might run into the sweet, sexy guy who fixed the roof last fall. She liked talking to him and wonders if he stayed on the island for the winter. She really hopes he’s still there. The minute Riley hears that Nikki has come back to Gansett Island, he has to see her. He has to know if the spark of attraction he’d felt for her is still there, and more than anything, he’d love to know why he’s thought more about a woman he met exactly twice than he ever has about anyone else. Come back to Gansett Island for Riley and Nikki’s sweet, sexy story and catch up with many of your favorites, including Mac and Maddie, Adam and Abby, Shane and Katie and Kevin and Chelsea!


Purchase MINE AFTER DARK by Marie Force

Kindle US:  iBooks:  Nook:  Kobo:  Google:  Kindle CA:  Kindle UK:  Kindle AU:


Signed copy from Marie’s Store:  Amazon:



This wonderful series returns with the sweet love story of Riley & Nikki. You get the pleasure of reading the adventures of new love with hiccup or two, the necessary HEA, and a new couple to love on the Island. Each book in the series features a different couple and many of those characters appear and you are brought up to date on their lives. The true stars of this series for me is, and always will be, are Mac and Maddie. Mac and Maddie are always good for smiles and laughs, they also bring me to tears. They have an honest true love full of commitment. They truly understand each other and are supportive. Their relationship continues to grow in each book and it’s wonderful to experience. While this is the love story of Riley & Nikki, Marie has a gift of including many characters into the story. There are multiple on-going storylines and it reads in real-life time frame. These “secondary” storylines never take away from the main storyline but enhance your reading. Past storylines are recalled in a way where you don’t feel it’s being repeated. It is always a true pleasure to take a break when a new Gansett Island book is released. I get swept away and all is right in the world again. And of course, they are wonderful to revisit/reread again and again.

Reviewed by Comfy Chair Books/Lisa Reigel







Marie Force is the New York Times bestselling author of contemporary romance, including the indie-published Gansett Island Series and the Fatal Series from Harlequin Books. In addition, she is the author of the Butler, Vermont Series, the Green Mountain Series and the erotic romance Quantum Series. In 2019, her new historical Gilded series from Kensington Books will debut with Duchess By Deception.

 All together, her books have sold 6.5 million copies worldwide, have been translated into more than a dozen languages and have appeared on the New York Times bestseller list many times. She is also a USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestseller, a Speigel bestseller in Germany, a frequent speaker and publishing workshop presenter as well as a publisher through her Jack’s House Publishing romance imprint. She is a two-time nominee for the Romance Writers of America’s RITA® award for romance fiction.

 Her goals in life are simple—to finish raising two happy, healthy, productive young adults, to keep writing books for as long as she possibly can and to never be on a flight that makes the news.

 Join Marie’s mailing list for news about new books and upcoming appearances in your area. Contact Marie at








Reader Groups:




One thought on “Book Review: Mine After Dark by Marie Force

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s