Book Review: Make Me Whole by Kaithlin Shepherd

Make Me Whole by Kaithlin Shepherd

Calloway Series, Book 1

Hot Tree Publishing (September 4, 2015)




Take the journey with the oldest Callaway brother as he finds and fights for true love. Having survived the unimaginable, Jamie Caldwell finds herself at a crossroads. Her only chance at a full recovery sends her to Montana. Anxious but determined, Jamie is resolute on her mission to break free from her past, leading her into the care of Cole Callaway. Instantly, everything changes. Jamie knows the cowboy has the ability to help her fight her demons, but opening up to him also gives him the power she’s just not ready to relinquish. Returning from Afghanistan a different man, Cole Callaway is damaged. His new mission leads him to supporting wounded veterans and helping them get back some of what they’ve lost. With his own demons to battle, every day is a trial, but the moment Jamie Calwell walks into his life, his focus and aim changes. Cole faces the biggest challenge of his life: making Jamie stay in Montana, and if he has his way, in his bed.





A sweet and moving story. I loved the immediate attraction between Jamie and Cole and the fact that they could relate to each other on an emotional and physical level. They helped each other heal and it was a believable love at first sight story.  I felt the plot got a little lost in the middle and my interest waned a bit. It had a bit of a lust relationship feel to it and not much of a story and I guess I lost some of the good character connection that was building. The ending picked back up and I was left content. This is a light read, the issues of their past demons aren’t deeply explained. This is the first book in the series but I read book 3 first and loved it. I’m eager to read book 2 and feel confident that it will be enjoyable. This is such a loving family that you feel connected to and want to be a part of.  Make Me Whole was a good start to the Callaway series and you meet the family that will be featured in future books.



Kaithlin Shepherd is the author of The Callaway Series, The Brass Series and The Saints and Sinners series.

Born and raised in Canada by a working single mom and a loving grandmother, Kaithlin surrounded herself with novels by Danielle Steele and Nora Roberts provided by her grandmother. Kaithlin quickly fell in love with reading. It was in high school, thanks to an English teacher, that Kaithlin wrote her first story (although if you ask for it, she will deny ever writing it) about a popular boy band. Inspired by constructive criticism, Kaithlin spent some time developing her love affair with words through more reading than someone would think possible.

After pursuing a higher education, Kaithlin sat down with a pen and paper and decided to give writing a shot. With no false hope in mind, her first novel, Make Me Whole, slowly came to life. Putting fear and doubt aside, Kaithlin has published five books to date, and has eleven more set to be published in the next two years.

Fueled by coffee and a wild imagination, Kaithlin spends her days working her day job (we’ll leave you wondering) and her nights writing love stories with a little side of sexiness.








All buy links here:



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s