Book Review: Buried by C.J. Carmichael

Buried by C.J. Carmichael

Twisted Cedars Mysteries, Book 1




CJ Carmichael is one of the best writers of small-town stories and family dynamics. Buried is book 1 of a 3-book series in the Twisted Cedars Mysteries. I found it very easy to fall into the mystery and the series kept my interest through the very last page. Woven in the series are multiple families, multiple mysteries, and multiple suspects spanning 30 years.

All the books in the series are all released, so you can easily read all of them one after another. It takes all three books to get the complete story.


Justice is overdue in the coastal town of Twisted Cedars where two unsolved mysteries lay buried in the past. Buried is Book 1 in the Twisted Cedars Mysteries Trilogy Over thirty years ago a series of murders targeting Oregon librarians was never solved. Now someone with inside knowledge is feeding clues to true crime writer Dougal Lachlan, promising him the best story of his career. Pursuing the leads means returning to Twisted Cedars, where his sister Jamie is about to marry a man he deeply dislikes. Local Twisted Cedars librarian Charlotte Hammond prefers her mysteries–and her romances–between the covers of a good book, especially since the disappearance of her older sister, Daisy, eight years ago. But then the dark and tortured soul who is Dougal Lachlan walks into the Twisted Cedars Library asking for her help. Before long Charlotte realizes there is no safe zone. Not even in libraries…and especially not in Twisted Cedars. Twisted Cedars Mysteries (A Three Book Trilogy) Book 1: Buried Book 2: Forgotten Book 3: Exposed







All three Twisted Cedars novels (Buried, Forgotten and Exposed) are included in this new Anthology. Readers can now tear through the entire series without coming up for air.







USA Today Bestselling author C. J. Carmichael has written over 45 novels in her favorite genres of romance and mystery. She has been nominated twice for the Romance Writers of America RITA Award, as well as RT Bookclub’s Career Achievement in Romantic Suspense award, and the Bookseller’s Best honor. She gave up the thrills of income tax forms and double entry book-keeping in 1998 when she sold her first book to Harlequin Superromance. Since then she has published over 35 novels with Harlequin and is currently working on a series of western romances with Tule Publishing. In addition C. J. Carmichael has published several cozy mystery series as an Indie author. When not writing C. J. enjoys family time with her grown daughters and her husband. Family dinners are great. Even better are the times they spend hiking in the Rocky Mountains around their home in Calgary, and relaxing at their cottage on Flathead Lake, Montana.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Buried by C.J. Carmichael

  1. This is Jennifer Everingham I sent u a message about the series of ur books twists cedar series and other series I like to get my books from the library because I’m a tight budget but I love to read and ur books seem amazing u replied and asked me where I live I live at 1530 East Genesee st#505 syracuse,N.Y. 13210. I want to read as many of ur books as possible especially buried.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Linida,, this is Lisa, owner of the Comfy Chair Books blog. It looks like you’re trying to reach C.J.. Here is here email link from her website:
      I will also try to link your comment to CJ so that she can respond to you about her books. I really enjoyed her Twisted Cedars Mysteries and hope you do too. She has a new mystery coming out soon – Bitter Roots.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s