Book Review: A Cowgirl’s Christmas by CJ Carmichael

A Cowgirl’s Christmas by CJ Carmichael

Carrigan’s of the Circle C (book 5)

Tule Publishing October 27, 2014

Contemporary Romance/Western/Holidays



I LOVE the Carrigan sisters. I first read this when it was released in 2014 and just finished rereading the complete series. A Cowgirl’s Christmas is Callan’s story. She is the youngest sister and the only one who remained living and working at the family ranch with their unpleasing father. I’ve enjoyed Callan parts in other books and always wondered what made her so tough. A Cowgirl’s Christmas explains it all.  I was horrified by Hawksley’s will and stripping the sisters of the Circle C (though, really, that was his personality). Enter the handsome Court who has to work hard to win Callan over as she comes to terms with Hawksley death, his will, her mother’s letters, and the shocking family secret.  I liked having all the Carrigan sisters together in this book and reading updates on their lives. Another wonderful, heartfelt story from C.J. Carmichael.


This Christmas is she going to lose her ranch? For years Callan Carrigan has been her father’s right hand man, so when her dad’s will names city slicker Court McAllister the new owner of The Circle C Ranch, Callan feels betrayed on every level. Then she and her sisters find their mother’s diaries, hidden from them by their father since their mother’s accidental death 18 years ago, and the shocking revelations explain a lot. Reeling, Callan seeks refuge in the local saloon, where it seems no one can reach her, until Court offers her a challenge. If she agrees to be foreman at the Circle C for one year, he’ll deed the ranch back to her and her sisters. The deal seems too sweet at first—until Callan realizes Court has his eyes on something she protects even more than her family’s land—her heart.


Amazon Print:

Amazon Kindle:







Carrigans of Circle C series

Hawksley Carrigan, owner of the Circle C Ranch always wanted a son to carry on the family name—but, instead, he got four beautiful, spirited daughters. After his wife’s untimely death, he withdrew into his pain leaving the girls to raise themselves. And they did. Join Sage, Mattie, Dani and Callan as they deal with change, loss, new life, secrets–and love in this series of heartfelt novels.



Reading Order:

Book One: Promise Me, Cowboy

Book Two: Good Together

Book Three: Close to Her Heart

Book Four: Snowbound in Montana

Book Five: A Cowgirl’s Christmas

Book Six: A Bramble House Christmas



CJ USA Today Bestselling author C. J. Carmichael has written over 45 novels in her favorite genres of romance and mystery. She has been nominated twice for the Romance Writers of America RITA Award, as well as RT Bookclub’s Career Achievement in Romantic Suspense award, and the Bookseller’s Best honor.

She gave up the thrills of income tax forms and double entry book-keeping in 1998 when she sold her first book to Harlequin Superromance. Since then she has published over 35 novels with Harlequin and is currently working on a series of western romances with Tule Publishing. In addition C. J. Carmichael has published several cozy mystery series as an Indie author.

When not writing C. J. enjoys family time with her grown daughters and her husband. Family dinners are great. Even better are the times they spend hiking in the Rocky Mountains around their home in Calgary, and relaxing at their cottage on Flathead Lake, Montana.







Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s