Book Review: Light After Dark by Marie Force


Light After Dark – Marie Force

Gansett Island Series (Book 16)

Publisher: HTJB, Inc (December 13, 2016)



The newest addition to the addicting Gansett Island series is Light After Dark. This is Mallory Vaughn’s story. Within the past year, Mallory’s mother has died; she has discovered and met her father (the lovable Big Mac McCarthy) and her new boisterous, loving family; has been laid off from her life consuming job of 12 years; and finds herself on Gansett Island to sort out her life. This is where the island works its magical healing powers. During her “Summer of Mallory”, she takes time to try make peace with the secret her mother kept from her, discover all the life moments she missed by not knowing her father and to figure out what’s next for her. On the island, Mallory meets new island resident Quinn James who is also in a state of transition. They have a lot in common, find comfort and understanding with each other, and have great chemistry. Marie Force has written another wonderful love story centering around the main characters as well as weaving in the beloved characters of the island. Without repeating many already told facts from previous storylines, Marie clearly explains the family tree of the McCarthy’s and their extended Island family and friends, and keeps us up to date with their lives. Light After Dark is a welcome return to the island. Marie Force has her character’s face and deal with real life issues in an honest way. This is one reason that I still keep coming back to Gansett. With her books, we are guaranteed believable characters and the must have: Happily Ever After ending.

This is book 16 (!) of the Gansett Island series. While it can be read as a standalone, there are reoccurring characters and continuing storylines that I feel you would better benefit from starting at book 1. Don’t be intimated by the number of books. You will fly through this series. Book 1, Maid for Love is free in Ebook format.

NOTE:  I am a huge fan of Marie Force and her Gansett Island series. Marie has based this series on the real-life Block Island, RI.  In June 2016 I was able to attend her Reader’s Weekend and visited Block Island. I had a blast exploring the island and picturing landmarks from the series. Click here to view my picture diary of that weekend:



Mallory Vaughn is at a crossroads in her life. A year after learning that Big Mac McCarthy is her father, she’s spending more and more time on Gansett Island, surrounded by the large and boisterous McCarthy family. When she’s laid off from her longtime job, Mallory goes to visit her family on Gansett and tries to figure out the next chapter. An unexpected job offer will have her packing up her home in Providence to move to the island for at least the summer, if not longer. She decides to make this the “Summer of Mallory,” full of new adventures, new people and new opportunities. Will a new love also be part of the Summer of Mallory? Anything is possible on Gansett Island, especially true love. Take the ferry back to Gansett to catch up with the McCarthy family and their friends. Be on hand as Laura and Owen welcome their twins and the family comes back together for another summer of love and adventure on Gansett Island.




Kindle US:





Kindle CA:

Kindle AU:

Kindle UK: 


Signed copies:




Book 1: Maid for Love Book 2: Fool for Love Book 3: Ready for Love Book 4: Falling for Love Book 5: Hoping for Love Book 6: Season for Love Book 7: Longing for Love Book 8: Waiting for Love Book 9: Time for Love Book 10: Meant for Love Book 10.5: Chance for Love, A Gansett Island Novella Book 11: Gansett After Dark Book 12: Kisses After Dark Book 13: Love After Dark Book 14: Celebration After Dark Book 15: Desire After Dark Book 16: Light After Dark



Marie Force is the New York Times bestselling author of more than 50 contemporary romances, including the Gansett Island Series, which has sold more than 2.3 million books, and the Fatal Series from Harlequin Books, which has sold more than 1.2 million books. In addition, she is the author of the Green Mountain Series as well as the erotic romance Quantum Series, written under the slightly modified name of M.S. Force. All together, her books have sold more than 5 million copies worldwide! Her goals in life are simple—to finish raising two happy, healthy, productive young adults, to keep writing books for as long as she possibly can and to never be on a flight that makes the news.











Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s