Book Review: Fatal Reckoning by Marie Force


Fatal Reckoning by Marie Force

Fatal Series (Book 14)

HQN Books (March 26, 2019)

Romantic Suspense


When tragedy strikes, a cold case suddenly turns hot—and deadly

A peaceful morning is shattered when Washington Metro Police lieutenant Sam Holland’s beloved father succumbs to injuries from an unsolved shooting while on duty four years ago. As the community rallies around Sam and her family, one thing becomes crystal clear: her father’s death has turned the unsolved case into a homicide—and it’s on her to bring her father’s killer to justice.

But the case has been cold for years…until an anonymous tip that’s too shocking to believe leads Sam down a dark and dangerous path. Her husband, Vice President Nick Cappuano, knows if she can’t solve this case, it will haunt her for the rest of her life. She’ll need the strength of their bond to pull her out of the darkness before it’s too late, because as the missing pieces rapidly fall into place, Sam realizes the truth might just break her all the same—and that her father’s killer isn’t done yet…



Click below for all ordering links and read an excerpt



Fatal Reckoning is all about the death of Skip Holland and Sam’s path to solving his four year old shooting. Various player’s who’d made up her father’s inner circle are included. The trail leads to in-house deceptions.  I’m invested in this series, characters, storylines, so this book was an emotional read. I’ve enjoyed Skips character and he will be missed, but as in true Marie Force fashion, she keeps her books real and portrays life naturally.  Fatal Series is my all time favorite series with an awesome couple that star in each book. The series is consistently thrilling to read and always leaves me satisfied.

NOTE: This is a continuing series that should be read in order. The storylines of each book are built on throughout the series. I would NOT start with this book-start at the beginning, Fatal Affair.

Reviewed by Comfy Chair Books/Lisa Reigel (May 7 2020)




While the Fatal Series books can stand alone, with a complete story in each book, you will enjoy them more if you read them in order as Sam and Nick’s story unfolds chronologically.

Read about the fatal series here:

Click on the link for each book to access ebook, print and audio purchase links as well as excerpts and other information about the books.



Marie ForceMarie Force is the New York Times bestselling author of contemporary romance, including the indie-published Gansett Island Series and the Fatal Series from Harlequin Books. In addition, she is the author of the Butler, Vermont Series, the Green Mountain Series and the erotic romance Quantum Series. In 2019, her new historical Gilded series from Kensington Books will debut with Duchess By Deception.

All together, her books have sold 6.5 million copies worldwide, have been translated into more than a dozen languages and have appeared on the New York Times bestseller list many times. She is also a USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestseller, a Speigel bestseller in Germany, a frequent speaker and publishing workshop presenter as well as a publisher through her Jack’s House Publishing romance imprint. She is a two-time nominee for the Romance Writers of America’s RITA® award for romance fiction.

Her goals in life are simple—to finish raising two happy, healthy, productive young adults, to keep writing books for as long as she possibly can and to never be on a flight that makes the news.

Join Marie’s mailing list for news about new books and upcoming appearances in your area. Follow her on FacebookTwitter @marieforce and on Instagram. Join one of Marie’s many reader groups. Contact Marie at








Reader Groups:



2 thoughts on “Book Review: Fatal Reckoning by Marie Force

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s