Book Review: Veil of Destiny by Diana Marik

Veil of Destiny by Diana Marik

Seven Deadly Veils Series, Book 5

March 3, 2019





While vacationing in London, Miranda and Remare learn of an old book that may contain clues to the destiny of Others, The Book of Origins. Encountering allies as well as adversaries, their search will take them from ancient libraries to London’s darker and more sinister sections. And to an old castle whose eccentric inhabitants may know more than they are willing to impart.

Haunted by dreams of a mysterious woman, Miranda has long yearned to discover her Elemental heritage and uncover truths concerning her abilities. However, some secrets are never meant to be unveiled and may destroy what she holds sacred. Remare agrees to help Miranda, but fears their search may arouse the interest of an old enemy bent on revenge.

They will try to keep each other protected from the forces trying to drive them apart. But the fates may have different plans: A destiny neither one of them never imagined…nor desired.



 Amazon Apple Books Kobo




The action, suspense and romance known to this series is still present but Veil of Destiny has more history and detail playing a big part as Miranda searches for the origins of the Elementals. She is just beginning to recognize her abilities and gain knowledge on it. I eagerly wait for remainder of the series to see how it all develops for her.

In order to know the future, one must discover their past.” –Miranda Crescent.

I really liked how the series is progressing. There are a lot of characters, some are friends, some are foes, and some are both. There’s danger, deception, loyalty, love, romance, and history all seamlessly woven together which is what Ms. Marik’s does very well. This is a captivating storyline as with each book in the series some secrets are revealed and some left hidden. It also leaves you with thought provoking plot and desiring the next book in the intriguing series.

Reviewed by Comfy Chair Books/Lisa Reigel (April 3, 2019)

*This series is best read in release order. *



The Seven Deadly Veils Vampire Book Series overview:

Lord Valadon tries to live peacefully among humans in post-war NYC However, his enemies within the Vampire Nation and in the dreaded hate group, the Human Order of Light, make life challenging for him. Good thing he has his allies near him. Remare, Valadon’s trusted second in command, is cunning and lethal at searching out his enemies. With the help of the Torian Guard, Remare will hunt down and destroy those who would harm his lord. Also helping Valadon to protect his territory from his enemies is the Black Star Clan, the local pack of werewolves. Their leader, the Were Queen Lizandra, is one of Lord Valadon’s most powerful allies. Her Weres will prove invaluable in defeating enemies from within, as well as outside threats to Valadon and his business empire, ValCorp.

However, the mysterious leader of the HOL, known simply as The Regent, will use his extensive resources to create a toxin that will potentially destroy the vampires. Wealthy and powerful, his family history is centuries old and dedicated to destroying the vampires. Even his closest collaborators don’t know his true identity, only that he will stop at nothing in eradicating the vampire race from the planet.

Into the complicated and dangerous world of vampire politics comes Miranda Crescent, a human with extraordinary gifts that only Elementals possess. With her burgeoning control over the elements, she will also help defend those that Valadon holds most precious. But Valadon’s greatest weakness is his growing love for her. He will be challenged to find ways to protect her from his enemies, often having to make sacrifices his own people are unaware of. Amidst the dangers and intrigues of the vampire world, Miranda will bring a soul deep love that Valadon can’t resist. However, her love is not solely for the dark lord, but for other members of his house. Her relationship with Valadon’s nephew is precious to her, as is her friendship with ValCorp’s physician, but her growing attraction to Valadon’s second, Remare may be what ultimately destroys ValCorp.

Can love survive the coming darkness?

Find out with each installment of the Seven Deadly Veils Vampire Series.



The Seven Deadly Veils Vampire Series

Book 1: Veil of Shadows (out now)

Novella: The Blue Veil (out now)

Book 2: Veil of Mists (out now)

Book 3: Veil of Darkness (out now)

Book 4: Veil of Secrets (out now)

Book 5: Veil of Destiny (out now)

Book 6: Veil of Orion (Fall, 2019)

Book 7: Veil of Honor (Spring, 2020)nal Veil




Diana Marik is the author of the romantic urban fantasy series, The Seven Deadly Veils. She grew up in New York City and has her MA in English literature from Hofstra University. A history buff, Diana loves discovering museums in whatever city she happens to be visiting. Her favorite spots to visit are in the American Southwest, but she considers New Orleans her home away from home. Diana is currently at work on her latest installment of the Seven Deadly Veils Vampire Series.





Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s