Book Review: Veil of Secrets by Diana Marik

Veil of Secrets by Diana Marik

Seven Deadly Veils series, Book 4

June 4, 2018

Romance/Paranormal/Werewolves, Vampires, Elementals



Caught in Queen Magritte’s snare and forced to wed someone he loathes, Lord Valadon, King of the vampires in New York, enlists the aid of two of his most powerful allies to thwart the plans of the Queen of All Vampires. Learning that his son survived, but unable to ascertain his whereabouts, he will call upon his trusted friends to locate the one person who can stop his upcoming marriage. Meanwhile, Remare’s return is hardly what Miranda has been dreaming about. With her association with Guy de Montglat revealed, her relationships with Remare and Valadon become strained. If she wants to keep her dreams alive, she will have to choose who to give her oath of loyalty—to her own bloodline or to the vampire who holds her heart. Everyone has secrets, right? Remare knows this, but the secrets Miranda has been keeping threaten to tear them apart. Only through trust can their love survive. Now he must find a way to earn her trust or risk losing her forever. A situation that will not bode well for House Valadon.



Barnes & Noble




The latest book in the Seven Deadly Veils series, Veil of Secrets, focuses more on Valadon. He is the King of the New York vampires and a big part of this series and I’m glad we got more time with him. We get insight and some of the backstory into the vampire’s life, especially Valadon’s. The book is filled with secrets, some are exposed, others still held. There is deception all around with trusts and loyalty being questioned while friendships & loyalties are being bound. Diana Marik writes in vivid detail, her words drawing you in. The numerous characters are well-developed and fascinating. You never know what’s going to happen next. The series plot line is growing and expanding. A perfect blend of the vampire/werewolf/elemental world in current day. A lot of action, suspense, and romance all woven perfectly together.  Fascinating series!

Reviewed by Comfy Chair Books/Lisa Reigel (July 10, 2018)



The Seven Deadly Veils Vampire Book Series overview:

Lord Valadon tries to live peacefully among humans in post-war NYC However, his enemies within the Vampire Nation and in the dreaded hate group, the Human Order of Light, make life challenging for him. Good thing he has his allies near him. Remare, Valadon’s trusted second in command, is cunning and lethal at searching out his enemies. With the help of the Torian Guard, Remare will hunt down and destroy those who would harm his lord. Also helping Valadon to protect his territory from his enemies is the Black Star Clan, the local pack of werewolves. Their leader, the Were Queen Lizandra, is one of Lord Valadon’s most powerful allies. Her Weres will prove invaluable in defeating enemies from within, as well as outside threats to Valadon and his business empire, ValCorp.

However, the mysterious leader of the HOL, known simply as The Regent, will use his extensive resources to create a toxin that will potentially destroy the vampires. Wealthy and powerful, his family history is centuries old and dedicated to destroying the vampires. Even his closest collaborators don’t know his true identity, only that he will stop at nothing in eradicating the vampire race from the planet.

Into the complicated and dangerous world of vampire politics comes Miranda Crescent, a human with extraordinary gifts that only Elementals possess. With her burgeoning control over the elements, she will also help defend those that Valadon holds most precious. But Valadon’s greatest weakness is his growing love for her. He will be challenged to find ways to protect her from his enemies, often having to make sacrifices his own people are unaware of. Amidst the dangers and intrigues of the vampire world, Miranda will bring a soul deep love that Valadon can’t resist. However, her love is not solely for the dark lord, but for other members of his house. Her relationship with Valadon’s nephew is precious to her, as is her friendship with ValCorp’s physician, but her growing attraction to Valadon’s second, Remare may be what ultimately destroys ValCorp.

Can love survive the coming darkness? Find out with each installment of the Seven Deadly Veils Vampire Series.



The Seven Deadly Veils Vampire Series

Book 1: Veil of Shadows (out now)

Novella: The Blue Veil (out now)

Book 2: Veil of Mists (out now)

Book 3: Veil of Darkness (out now)

Book 4: Veil of Secrets (out now)

Book 5: Veil of Death

Book 6: Veil of Blood

Book 7: The Final Veil 7The Final Veil



Diana Marik is the author of the romantic urban fantasy series, The Seven Deadly Veils. She grew up in New York City and has her MA in English literature from Hofstra University. A history buff, Diana loves discovering museums in whatever city she happens to be visiting. Her favorite spots to visit are in the American Southwest, but she considers New Orleans her home away from home. Diana is currently at work on her latest installment of the Seven Deadly Veils Vampire Series.







One thought on “Book Review: Veil of Secrets by Diana Marik

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s