Release Blitz with Review: Bitter Truth by C.J. Carmichael


Bitter Truth by C.J. Carmichael

Bitter Root Mysteries, Book 2

Tule Publishing (February 15, 2018)

Mystery, Thriller, Suspense



Murder in a small town is always personal.

In the isolated ranching community of Lost Trails, Montana, Lacy Stillman, a rich elderly rancher has died of a heart attack in her own bed. What could be more normal than that? As Zak Waller, dispatcher with the local Sheriff’s Office, joins the town in mourning the loss of the community matriarch, some disquieting information makes Zak wonder if Lacy’s death was not what it seemed.

Meanwhile, Zak’s friend Tiff Masterson is overwhelmed by her mother’s escalating mental breakdown and her aunt’s stubborn denial of the problem. Tiff assumes the root of the problem is the death of her brother and father sixteen years ago. But the real atrocity goes back much further than that. When the truth is revealed in a shocking twist, Tiff’s world is turned completely upside down. The ramifications affect many of the most prominent citizens and provide the missing clue to Lacy Stillman’s murder.



Uncovering Deep Secrets

Good friends Lacy and Zak continue to find deep secrets in small town of Lost Trails, Montana.

Bitter Truth has wonderful plot twists and turns you don’t see coming. Many interesting characters with lots of family drama and secrets. This is an engaging storyline and a page turner. I am looking forward to the next book in the series. Well done mystery!

eBook copy provided by Tule Publishing via Netgalley



Amazon Kindle

Barnes & Noble Nook



Amazon CA

Amazon UK



Read an excerpt from Bitter Truth over on CJ Carmichael’s website:


Bitter Root Mystery Series

Welcome to Lost Trail, Montana where the bitter roots of hatred and jealousy are planted deep. Zak Waller is just the dispatcher at the local Sheriff’s Office, but he’s more effective than the Sheriff in unraveling secrets and solving crimes in this three-book series.

Book 1:  Bitter Roots

Book 2:  Bitter Truth

Book 3: Bitter Sweet (Coming Soon)



CJUSA Today Bestselling author, C. J. Carmichael has written over 45 novels in her favorite genres of romance and mystery. She has been nominated twice for the Romance Writers of America RITA Award, as well as RT Bookclub’s Career Achievement in Romantic Suspense award, and the Bookseller’s Best honor.

She gave up the thrills of income tax forms and double entry book-keeping in 1998 when she sold her first book to Harlequin Superromance. Since then she has published over 35 novels with Harlequin and is currently working on a series of western romances with Tule Publishing. In addition, C. J. Carmichael has published several cozy mystery series as an Indie author.

When not writing C. J. enjoys family time with her grown daughters and her husband. Family dinners are great. Even better are the times they spend hiking in the Rocky Mountains around their home in Calgary, and relaxing at their cottage on Flathead Lake, Montana.

Visit C.J.’s website at






Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s