Book Review: State of the Union by Marie Force


State of the Union by Marie Force

First Family Series, Book 3

HTJB, Inc (September 20, 2022)

Women’s Detective Fiction/Romantic Suspense


It’s the biggest night of President Nick Cappuano’s life. Will his first lady make it to the Capitol in time for his speech?

President Cappuano has been working for months on his first State of the Union address, his highest profile moment yet as the country’s new president. He’s dealing with a wide array of complex issues and is counting down to the televised speech before a joint session of Congress. While he tries to strike the right tone to assure the American people that their new president is hard at work on their behalf, his wife, Metro Police Lt. Sam Holland is faced with one of the most confounding cases of her career and juggling some complex issues at home with the couple’s children. Add to that some vexing security concerns, and the first couple are on edge as they wonder whether they’ll pass this first big test for the fledgling Cappuano administration.

As always, when things get too hot to handle in the rest of their lives, Sam and Nick turn to each other for solace as their bond grows deeper by the day in this latest installment in the First Family Series!

STATE OF THE UNION will take you on a wild ride with some twists and turns



State of the Union – Marie Force


I enjoy reading this series centered around a DC Police Lieutenant and her husband who is now the President of the US. Sam juggling numerous roles in her life (wife, mother, Lieutenant, and 1st Lady of the US) keeps her on her toes along with her sexy husband. The ongoing series is still going strong adding new characters to the wonderful cast of family and friends who have been there since the beginning. The friendships and their loyalty keeps me coming back. This is a political romantic suspense which is light on politics.

#StateOfTheUnion #MarieForce #FirstFamilySeries #Women’sDetectiveFiction #RomanticSuspense #HTJBInc #Bookstagram #PoliticalFiction #Saga #ContemporaryFiction #SamAndNick #FatalSeries #BookReview #ComfyChairBooks


The First Family Series


Sam and Nick’s journey continues with a change of address to 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue in the the First Family Series, a continuation of their story that began with the Fatal Series.  All the things you love best about the Fatal Series will be coming with us into the new First Family Series, only there’ll be some added focus on Nick’s job (not too much—I promise) in addition to Sam’s job, which she’ll continue, despite an enormous uproar. There’ll be glamour and international intrigue and all sorts of amazing things to come All the characters you love in the Fatal Series will remain on the landscape, albeit some of them in new and different roles, but everyone will remain present.


Marie Force

Marie Force is the New York Times bestselling author of contemporary romance, romantic suspense and erotic romance. Her series include Fatal, First Family, Gansett Island, Butler Vermont, Quantum, Treading Water, Miami Nights and Wild Widows.

Her books have sold more than 12 million copies worldwide, have been translated into more than a dozen languages and have appeared on the New York Times bestseller list more than 30 times. She is also a USA Today and #1 Wall Street Journal bestseller, as well as a Spiegel bestseller in Germany.

Her goals in life are simple—to finish raising two happy, healthy, productive young adults, to keep writing books for as long as she possibly can and to never be on a flight that makes the news.

Home – Marie Force

FacebookInstagramTikTokBookBub and Verve Romance.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s