Book Review: Fool for Love by Marie Force


Fool for Love by Marie Force

Gansett Island Series, Book 2

HTJB, Inc (May 26, 2011)

Family Saga, Contemporary Romance


He’s like her fifth brother, but her feelings for him are far from platonic.

Joe Cantrell, owner of the Gansett Island Ferry Company, has been in love with Janey McCarthy for as long as he can remember. At the same time, Janey has been dating or engaged to doctor-in-training David Lawrence. When things go horribly wrong between David and Janey, she calls her “fifth brother” Joe, one of the few people in her close circle who lives on the mainland. Janey decides a few days with Joe is just what she needs before she goes home to the island to face her parents and family with the news of her broken engagement. It was bad enough for Joe loving Janey from afar, but having her in his house is pure torture. Will he take advantage of this opportunity to show her what they could have together? And what will Joe’s best friend and Janey’s protective older brother Mac have to say about it?

BUY LINKS & Read Chapter 1:

Fool for Love – Marie Force


I’m doing a reread of this series as the early books I didn’t leave reviews. Gansett Island is one of my favorite series and going back and rereading the books makes me love them all the more. Mac and Maddie, who were the main characters in book one, are featured in every book. Mac has a fierce love and loyalty to his family and this love is highlighted in Fool for Love as his little sister and his best friend get together. Janey and Joe are perfect together and Joe is the ideal hero. He’s devoted, patient, protective, and sexy. Janey is finally seeing Joe with new eyes and goes for what she wants. I also enjoyed her relationship with Maddie and how the two of them grow closer. This book has a lot of heat, as do all the books in this series. Enjoyed my trip back to Gansett Island.

Reviewed by Comfy Chair Books/Lisa Reigel (August 14, 2022)

Reread from 2012/purchased copy

#FoolForLove #MarieForce #GansettIslandSeries #FamilySaga #ContemporaryRomance #BookReviewer #BookBlogger #ComfyChairBooks #Bookstagram


The Gansett Island Series

Set on a fictional version of Marie’s beloved Block Island, RI, the Gansett Island is Marie’s marquee series with nearly 3 million copies of the books sold since Maid for Love debuted in 2011. Readers come back book after book to catch up with their favorite characters while enjoying a new romance in every book. Get ready to share in the life of the McCarthy family as well as their many island friends in this much-loved sexy romance series.

While the Gansett Island Series books can stand alone, with a complete story in each book, you will enjoy them more if you read them in order. Stories unfold chronologically, and couples show up again in later books, keeping you up-to-date with your favorite characters.

Click on the link for each book to access ebook, paperback and audio purchase links as well as excerpts and other information about the books.

Book 1: Maid for Love (Maddie & Mac)
Book 2: Fool for Love (Joe & Janey) 
Book 3: Ready for Love (Luke & Sydney)
Book 4: Falling for Love (Grant & Stephanie) 
Book 5: Hoping for Love (Evan & Grace) 
Book 6: Season for Love (Owen & Laura)
Book 7: Longing for Love (Blaine & Tiffany)
Book 8: Waiting for Love (Adam & Abby)
Book 9: Time for Love (Daisy & David)
Book 10: Meant for Love (Jenny & Alex)
Book 10.5: Chance for Love, A Gansett Island Novella (Jared & Lizzie)

Book 11: Gansett After Dark (Owen & Laura)
Book 12: Kisses After Dark (Shane & Katie)
Book 13: Love After Dark (Paul & Hope)
Book 14: Celebration After Dark (Big Mac & Linda)
Book 15: Desire After Dark (Slim & Erin)
Book 16: Light After Dark  (Mallory & Quinn)
Book 17: Victoria & Shannon (Episode 1)
Book 18: Kevin & Chelsea (Episode 2)
A Gansett Island Christmas Novella
Book 19: Mine After Dark (Riley & Nikki)

Book 20: Yours After Dark (Finn & Chloe)
Book 21: Trouble After Dark (Deacon & Julia)
Book 22: Rescue After Dark (Mason & Jordan) 
Book 23: Blackout After Dark (Full Cast)
Book 24: Temptation After Dark (Cooper & Gigi)
Book 25: Resilience After Dark (Jace & Cindy)


Marie ForceMarie Force is the New York Times bestselling author of contemporary romance, romantic suspense and erotic romance. Her series include Fatal, First Family, Gansett Island, Butler Vermont, Quantum, Treading Water, Miami Nights and Wild Widows.

Her books have sold more than 10 million copies worldwide, have been translated into more than a dozen languages and have appeared on the New York Times bestseller more than 30 times. She is also a USA Today and #1 Wall Street Journal bestseller, as well as a Spiegel bestseller in Germany.

Her goals in life are simple—to finish raising two happy, healthy, productive young adults, to keep writing books for as long as she possibly can and to never be on a flight that makes the news.

Home – Marie Force

Click the link below to check out my visits to Block Island aka Gansett Island:

Marie Force’s 5th Annual Reader’s Weekend June 2018 (

Marie Force’s Reader Weekend 2016 (


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s