BOOK REVIEW: Maid for Love by Marie Force

Maid for Love by Marie Force          

The Gansett Island Series (Book 1)

HTJB, Inc (April 28, 2011)

Contemporary Romance/Family Saga


She’s a single mom with no patience for a playboy until he proves he’s playing for keeps.

Maddie Chester is determined to leave her hometown of Gansett Island, a place that has brought her only bad memories and ugly rumors. Then she’s knocked off her bike on the way to her housekeeping job at McCarthy’s Resort Hotel by Gansett’s “favorite son,” Mac McCarthy. He’s back in town to help his father with preparations to sell the family resort and has no intention of staying long. When Mac accidentally sends Maddie flying over the handlebars, badly injuring her, he moves in to nurse her back to health and help care for her young son. He soon realizes his plans for a hit-and-run visit to the island are in serious jeopardy, and he just may be “maid” for love.


Maid for Love – Marie Force

The entire Gansett Island Series (Books 1-24) is ON SALE for the month of July to celebrate the release of RESILIENCE AFTER DARK, book 25, on July 19! Catch up on any books you’ve missed during this RARE full-series SALE!

maid for love blog

Start here, with MAID FOR LOVE, which is FREE:

Kindle CA:
Kindle UK:
Kindle AU: [](
Apple Books:


“Ya know, sometimes life puts things in yer path to show ya where ya belong…. Don’t miss what’s right in front of ya.” – Ned

Maid for Love is the beginning of the epic Gansett Island Series. I’m a huge Marie Force fan and have read all her books. Maid for Love started it all for me back in 2012 when I discovered her. I’ve reread this book (and many of the books in the series, which is still going strong with book 25 soon releasing) a few times. Mac and Maddie are to me, the stars of this series. Each book in the series does feature a new couple but Mac and Maddie, as well as other characters are featured in each book. I adore Mac. He inserted himself into Maddie’s life when she was injured after he stepped in front of her bicycle. He’s wonderful with her son and so patient with her. With time, he proved he’s different than other men. Maddie is a strong character, has been hurt in the past, and is determined to make it on her own. These two characters are perfect for each other. I’ve read all the books in this series and it has been awhile since I’ve read this one. I’ve forgotten how horrible Mac’s mom and the town treated Maddie. It’s so out of character for the characters that I’ve come to know in the proceeding books. So if you get mad at mom Linda, don’t give up on her. She improves and becomes a quite lovable character.

A feel-good romance, lighter read, with a HEA.

Reviewed by Comfy Chair Books/Lisa Reigel (July 6, 2022)

Originally read in 2012.


The Gansett Island Series


Set on a fictional version of Marie’s beloved Block Island, RI, the Gansett Island is Marie’s marquee series with nearly 3 million copies of the books sold since Maid for Love debuted in 2011. Readers come back book after book to catch up with their favorite characters while enjoying a new romance in every book. Get ready to share in the life of the McCarthy family as well as their many island friends in this much-loved sexy romance series.

While the Gansett Island Series books can stand alone, with a complete story in each book, you will enjoy them more if you read them in order. Stories unfold chronologically, and couples show up again in later books, keeping you up-to-date with your favorite characters.

Click on the link for each book to access ebook, paperback and audio purchase links as well as excerpts and other information about the books.

Book 1: Maid for Love (Maddie & Mac)
Book 2: Fool for Love (Joe & Janey) 
Book 3: Ready for Love (Luke & Sydney)
Book 4: Falling for Love (Grant & Stephanie) 
Book 5: Hoping for Love (Evan & Grace) 
Book 6: Season for Love (Owen & Laura)
Book 7: Longing for Love (Blaine & Tiffany)
Book 8: Waiting for Love (Adam & Abby)
Book 9: Time for Love (Daisy & David)
Book 10: Meant for Love (Jenny & Alex)
Book 10.5: Chance for Love, A Gansett Island Novella (Jared & Lizzie)

Book 11: Gansett After Dark (Owen & Laura)
Book 12: Kisses After Dark (Shane & Katie)
Book 13: Love After Dark (Paul & Hope)
Book 14: Celebration After Dark (Big Mac & Linda)
Book 15: Desire After Dark (Slim & Erin)
Book 16: Light After Dark  (Mallory & Quinn)
Book 17: Victoria & Shannon (Episode 1)
Book 18: Kevin & Chelsea (Episode 2)
A Gansett Island Christmas Novella
Book 19: Mine After Dark (Riley & Nikki)

Book 20: Yours After Dark (Finn & Chloe)
Book 21: Trouble After Dark (Deacon & Julia)
Book 22: Rescue After Dark (Mason & Jordan) 
Book 23: Blackout After Dark (Full Cast)
Book 24: Temptation After Dark (Cooper & Gigi)
Book 25: Resilience After Dark (Jace & Cindy)


Marie ForceMarie Force is the New York Times bestselling author of contemporary romance, romantic suspense and erotic romance. Her series include Fatal, First Family, Gansett Island, Butler Vermont, Quantum, Treading Water, Miami Nights and Wild Widows.

Her books have sold more than 10 million copies worldwide, have been translated into more than a dozen languages and have appeared on the New York Times bestseller more than 30 times. She is also a USA Today and #1 Wall Street Journal bestseller, as well as a Spiegel bestseller in Germany.

Her goals in life are simple—to finish raising two happy, healthy, productive young adults, to keep writing books for as long as she possibly can and to never be on a flight that makes the news.

Home – Marie Force

Click the links below to check out my visits to Block Island aka Gansett Island:

Marie Force’s 5th Annual Reader’s Weekend June 2018 (

Marie Force’s Reader Weekend 2016 (


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s